Where I Belong (part I)

In my 17 years, I have moved 6 times. I have lived in 2 countries, 3 states, and 7 cities.

I often wish that I could have lived in one place my whole life. Being the “new girl” is a pretty normal experience for me, but that doesn’t make it any easier. My new friends have inside jokes, memories, and experiences that I missed out on. It seems like I always arrive at the party too late. When I move away, I have to hide my jealousy when my friends talk about the new friends they have made. I like to wonder from time to time what it would feel like to grow up with the same people my whole life. Perhaps, I could have deeper friendships than I do now.

Despite all my “what-if’s”, I’m grateful for all the opportunities I’ve had because of moving around. Experiencing different cultures. Making friends all over the world. Being able to adapt to new environments more easily. Being bilingual.

But do the benefits outweigh the stresses of having to move around and re-adjust so much?

I really can’t answer that question. I mean, this is all that I have known. I’ve never lived any other way, so I can’t necessarily say which one is better. Maybe, if I stayed in one place my whole life, I would get bored and wish that I could move. On the other hand, maybe I would have been a lot more happy being rooted in one place.

However, I can honestly say that I would not want to change anything. All the places I’ve lived at and the people I’ve met have helped shaped me into me. I know that God has used all this moving around for a reason. His invisible and sure hand has been leading me every step of the journey, all for His good purpose.

 

 

One thought on “Where I Belong (part I)

Leave a Reply

