2.16.17

/8:30am/

It was a nice day for a walk.

The air was cool this morning, a nice change to the humid Indonesian climate. Indonesia basically only has two seasons: sunny and rainy. It’s currently the rainy season, raining almost every night, which I love.

Grime covers the back of my legs as I walk through the puddle covered streets. One downside to the rainy season.

While trying to ignore the dirt getting everywhere on my shoes, I chat with Mommy about blogging, when I spot a

“Cat!”

Mommy jumps a little. The cat is sitting on top of a wheelbarrow of trash, looking like it’s about to pounce on me.

I hurry around the corner, making fierce eye contact with the cat, daring it to jump at me (though I would scream like a baby if that happened).

Turn the corner. Avoid a few more puddles. And, finally, I have arrived.

wp-image-1699544385jpg.jpeg

Sir Babi (“Sir Pig”) is a fairly new place to eat in the Northern Jakarta area, but it has already gained so much popularity. It’s famous for it’s pork noodles and fried pork meatballs. If you live in Jakarta, you definitely have to try!

20170216_083451.jpg

Above is the delicious “mie karet”, or “rubber noodles” with pork. A great breakfast to start off my day.

/6:30pm/

I’m chowing down some rice with pork for dinner (yes, pork again) when suddenly the lights go out. Everyone freezes and it’s quiet for a few seconds. Mommy, who is closest to the door, runs outside and switches on the electricity again.

I resume my dinner, laughing a bit with Daddy and Maknae (Korean for baby of the family; ie. my youngest sister) about how the sudden power outage scared me.

I pour a bit more rice in my bowl and-

Darkness.

It seems like the outage is more serious than we thought. We go on to light candles and find flashlights around the house.

20170216_190925.jpg

Candlelight dinner, anyone? It’s not very romantic, but we have to view in a positive light (excuse the pun) somehow, right?

/7:15pm/

Dongsaeng (Korean for younger sibling; ie. my younger sister), Maknae, and I rush off to Korean lessons at our friend’s house, leaving behind our own house and all its electrical problems for now.

Our teacher gives us gifts she brought back from Korea.

20170216_192950.jpg

Yes, face masks! I’ve been wanting to buy more of these 🙂

My friend made us some tteokbokki, spicy Korean rice & fish cakes. Poor Maknae and Dongsaeng couldn’t stand the spiciness. Bring the cold milk out!

20170216_202116.jpg

The end of our lesson brought about a crazy dance party. I’m not sure it could count as a dance party since we spent almost half the time laughing too hard, though. Or maybe that was just me. Hmm… Perhaps those spicy tteokbokki’s had something to do with it…

/10:15pm/

We return and the lights are back on. The rain has started again. The spiciness and energy from before are long gone.

/12:09am/

Another day has passed, and I’m another day older.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

